Launceston Historical Society
April 18 @ 2:00 pmFree
Launceston Historical Society, April Meeting
Sunday 18 April 2021 – 2pm at the Meeting Room, Queen Victoria Museum at Inveresk
John Dent OAM & Darren Watton, Kings Meadows Road Station
The Kings Meadows Road Station was built by the VDL Government from August 1836 to house convicts building the Evandale to Launceston water scheme and Hobart Road. It was abandoned about 2½ years later. Its location since then has been a mystery despite a plan being prepared in 1838. The lecture will outline the hunt to rediscover its location and the archaeological dig that took place to uncover its secrets.
John Dent is currently President of The West Tamar Historical Society and is a member of Launceston Historical Society, the Friends of The Launceston Mechanics’ Institute and is on the committee of the Tasmanian Family History Society (Launceston). John has published numerous articles and given many talks on various aspects of northern Tasmanian history and has recently co-authored the book on York Town. He is a registered land surveyor in private practice and has used his surveying skills to uncover many aspects of our earliest history. John was awarded an OAM in 1996 and is a member of Rotary.
Darren Watton is an archaeologist with Southern Archaeology. He has extensive experience in all aspects of archaeological work and heritage management, specialising in historical research, archaeological assessments, method statements, heritage surveying, monitoring, excavation, cataloguing and report writing.
Free event. Bookings are essential: email@example.com or phone Prue 6327 2540