The Launceston Archery Club was formed 1958 and became the Paringa Archery club 8th Feb 1961 after an initial meeting 17th Dec 1960. Paringa is an Aboriginal name for girls, meaning “Home at the river”. In 1960 Miss. V Klye introduced the sport to Launceston High School Students, who practised in Royal Park. Another northern club was formed at Beaconsfield in 1964 and lasted until the early 1980s. Tasmanian archers founded the Archery Society of Tasmania in the early 1950s and held its first state championships in 1962.
The club has been built by many active members, with facilities being constructed during many a working BBQ. Of recent years the efforts of the Freeman family, Ray Denton, Shirley and Wally Morphett, Peter Fisher, Murray Frith and Jeff Garner have enabled the club to build upon it’s simple base and provide one of the most picturesque ranges in the country.